Hashtags#congress #military #uscongress #veterans

The US House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs (more commonly known as the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee) oversees agencies, reviews current legislation, and recommends new bills or amendments concerning US military veterans. Jurisdiction includes retiring and disability pensions, life insurance, education (including the G.I. Bill), vocational training, medical care, and home loan guarantees. The committee oversees the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), veterans’ hospitals, and veterans’ cemeteries, except cemeteries run by the Department of the Interior. The committee was created by the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, which authorized a standing committee of 27 members.

The Veterans’ Affairs Committee does not have jurisdiction over the following issues (the indicated committee instead handles the particular issue):

  • Tax status of veterans benefits and contributions to Veterans Service Organizations > Committee on Ways and Means
  • Military retiree issues, including COLA’s and disability pay > Committee on Armed Services
  • CHAMPUS and Tri-Care > Committee on Armed Services
  • Survivor Benefit Program > Committee on Armed Services
  • Veterans Preference in Federal civil service hiring practice > Committee on Government Reform and Oversight
  • Congressional charters for veterans service organizations > Committee on the Judiciary
  • Immigration issues relating to veterans > Committee on the Judiciary
  • Issues dealing with Prisoners of War (POWs) and service members missing in action (MIAs) > Committee on Armed Services
Democratic Members of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee as of 116th Congress:
  1. Mark Takano (D) > California 41st (Chair)
  2. Julia Brownley (D) > California 26th
  3. Kathleen Rice (D) > New York 4th
  4. Conor Lamb (D) > Pennsylvania 17th
  5. Mike Levin (D) > California 49th
  6. Max Rose (D) > New York 11th
  7. Anthony Brindisi (D) > New York 22nd
  8. Gil Cisneros (D) > California 39th
  9. Susie Lee (D) > Nevada 3rd
  10. Lauren Underwood (D) > Illinois 14th
  11. Joe Cunningham (D) > South Carolina 1st
  12. Elaine Luria (D) > Virginia 2nd
  13. Chris Pappas (D) > New Hampshire 1st
  14. Colin Alllred (D) > Texas 32nd
  15. Collin Peterson (D) > Minnesota 7th
  16. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D) > Northern Mariana Islands
Republican Members of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee as of 116th Congress:
  1. Phil Roe (R) > Tennessee 1st (Ranking Member)
  2. Gus M. Bilirakis (R) > Florida 12th
  3. Amata C. Radewagen (R) > American Samoa
  4. Greg Steube (R) > Florida 17th
  5. Mike Bost (R) > Illinois 12th
  6. Neal Dunn (R) > Florida 2nd
  7. Jack Bergman (R) > Michigan 1st
  8. Jim Banks (R) > Indiana 3rd
  9. Andy Barr (R) > Kentucky 6th
  10. Dan Meuser (R) > Pennsylvania 9th
  11. Steve Watkins (R) > Kansas 2nd
  12. Chip Roy (R) > Texas 21st

Leave a Reply